closer V-Day
[Feb. 14, 2015 - V-Day]

No fun till Thursday
Cuz ill be thirsty baby
A part of u that gets to me
Sly and cool and easy for the eyes to see

I have been penetrating the ground
And filling up on dust
Gold rings tick spark n disappear
overhead
Like I'm suddenly dead
Or like I gained points 
In a new level
And I drank with the devil
Till he was drunk
And couldn't hang

All the guys I dated were punks
And they'd all lie
And make me wanna numb myself
And some were rude
How could I take love without the violence
Once I would laugh
Flirt with the idea

But now I run
If like a coward
Then it is for my safety-
The safety of my mind
The severity of all this time-

I wouldn't wound an animal
Unless it was I was to eat it

Did u expect dullness from me?
Maybe it is nonsensical
Maybe how I am
Lacks sense--
But is it all my responsibility?
Couldn't I blame it on
Years of the Great Drought
The Great Depression
The fryer train that was to take
me away

I understand
I whisper
To anyone who will listen
I understand life is unfair
But I've also believed in reaping what
U sow
Haven't I lain down a bit of justice?
A bit of saving the future?
A bit of sanity to it all?

It's not all my fault
Sometimes
Even as much as the climate is my fault

But I was born this way--
It's natural and based
On a pathos- wisdom
But I can't fight what I am
As much as a zebra can change it's stripes
I am enough-

I whisper to the mirror
Usually the only One
really listening

And I can be happy
And all alone
And okay with how the shifts
Drive sober
And clean-

Even God was mocked!
Why should our experience be any more civil
If His name is to be on our foreheads
And for what would I take a crown!?
Nothing! Oh foolish me.
Woe is me.

Will I ever learn--
Or never leap like a well-fed calf
That this healing becomes my imprint--
I have learned.
And that's the way it should be.
If only I can keep caring less
About the taste n tempature of the water--

Now if only I can go without
The water.

x / o

navigate
new
older
random
notes
d.land